Brant Bjork: New Album Details Revealed

Brant Bjork: New Album Details Revealed

AddThis Social Bookmark Button

KYUSS and FU MANCHU legend Brant Bjork is back with a brand new record. Today, the godfather of Desert Rock unveiled the hotly anticipated details about his thirteenth solo album titled "Mankind Woman", set to be released September 14th via Heavy Psych Sounds Records.

Although this is indeed a Brant Bjork record it is the first record Brant so closely collaborate with a producer and co-writer; his LOW DESERT PUNK BAND guitarist and friend, Bubba Dupree. Brant and Bubba wrote and performed the music along with guest appearances by bass player Armand Secco Sabal, Nick Oliveri and vocalist Sean Wheeler who has been a touring member of the LOW DESERT PUNK BAND. The recording took place in March of 2018 at Zainaland, a creative villa owned by Brant Bjork's wife, Zaina Alwan, in the California desert town of 29 Palms. The record was recorded and engineered by Yosef Sanborn who also owns and operates Massive FX pedals in Los Angeles. Multiple pedals designed by Yosef were used by Brant and Bubba for this record. Additional tracks were recorded by Bubba Dupree at Brant Bjork's home studio in Venice beach California.

Brant and Bubba describe the sound of "Mankind Woman" as modern classic. It is evidently clear that both Bjork and Dupree specialize in the craft of the sound and feel of the music spawned in the '60s and '70s. This record is inspired by this great era, however the intention was not to try to recapture or mimic in retro terms these influences but to strive for a contemporary quality. Brant Bjork might have gone deeper in the lyrics than on any record before. Focusing on personal sensitivities, elite hypocrisies, racism, sexism and the daily struggle to find peace, love and understanding in today's American society. Once again, Brant Bjork created a record that reminds the listener that it is the ingredients of the Jazz, Blues and Funk, that makes Rock music taste so good. A must-have for all collectors, genre-fans and beyond.

Coming out September 14th via Heavy Psych Sounds, "Mankind Woman" will be available in the following formats:

- 50 Test Pressing Vinyl (Only on Heavy Psych Sounds webshop)
- Limited edition "Colour in Colour" Brown in Orange Vinyl (Only on HPS webshop)
- Limited edition "3 colours A/B side" Burst Yellow / Red / Brown Vinyl (Only on HPS webshop)
- Limited edition "3 Colour Segment" Orange / Purple / Yellow Vinyl (Only on HPS webshop)
- Limited edition "Splatter Version" Transp. Background / Yellow, Purple, Orange, Red, Brown
- Black Vinyl
- CD Digipak
- Digital Download

The pre-order will start July 3rd, HERE.

"Mankind Woman" tracklisting:

01. "Chocolatize"
02. "Lazy Wizards"
03. "Charlie Gin"
04. "Mankind Woman"
05. "Pisces"
06. "Swagger & Sway"
07. "Somebody"
08. "Pretty Hairy"
09. "Brand New Old Times"
10. "1968"
11. "Nation Of Indica"

Source: www.HeavyPsychSounds.Com