Whitechapel - The Somatic Defilement

Whitechapel - The Somatic Defilement

(CD, Metal Blade Records, 2013)

To be honest I find it kind of difficult writing reviews for such releases, for the simple reason that I’m not actually sure what I am supposed to be writing for. Re-releases were never my kind of thing, especially when I couldn’t find something worth spending my money on. Well, WHITECHAPEL’s “The Somatic Defilement” is one of those cases. Anyway...

This album was WHITECHAPEL’s debut album which was released in 2007 by Candlelight Records. If you never had the chance to listen to it, don’t expect any major differences. Of course, the sextet was a bit more primitive back then and the band has been through a couple of lineup changes, but other than that things remain just about the same. Bozeman sounded bestial right from their very first days (although to be fair he has improved during the last years), the groovy parts & breakdowns were there... So far so good, but what has Metal Blade thrown in here to make the package tempting? Well, absolutely nothing: no bonus tracks, no bonus DVD, no previously unreleased songs or any demo material, nothing.

To cut a long story short, what you get here is WHITECHAPEL’s debut album remixed, remastered and with a slightly different artwork. Is it worth it? If the answer is “yes” or “no” is definitely something each one of you knows better than me.





01. Necrotizing
02. The Somatic Defilement
03. Devirgination Studies
04. Prostatic Fluid Asphyxiation
05. Fairy Fay
06. Ear To Ear
07. Alone In The Morgue
08. Festering Fiesta
09. Vicer Exciser
10. Articulo Mortis


Phil Bozeman - Vocals
Ben Savage - Guitar
Alex Wade - Guitar
Brandon Cagle - Guitar
Gabe Crisp - Bass
Kevin Lane - Drums