Tygers Of Pan Tang - Ambush

Tygers Of Pan Tang - Ambush

(CD, Rocksector Records, 2012)

TYGERS OF PAN TANG was one of the flagships of the New Wave Of British Heavy Metal movement back in the late 70s/early 80s. With a successful triplet of studio albums plus some energetic live performances and a big label backing their existence they were ready for the big boom after what IRON MAIDEN, DEF LEPPARD and (to a lesser extent) SAXON had achieved. Sadly, this commercial breakthrough never came – for several reasons – and TYGERS OF PAN TANG became another one of those British bands that called it quits in the later 80s leaving the dream behind.

Some ten years ago the band reformed with only Robb Weir from the original lineup; a couple of interesting studio albums received good acceptance from traditional Metal fans while “Animal Instinct” (2008) raised the bar high for the band since it showed a great potential for good rockin’ songs with a metallic touch. Now, four years later it’s a brand new studio album being offered simply entitled “Ambush” and I gotta say this is maybe the most prominent LP the band has released after its 00’s reformation. From start to finish, this is a rocking British Metal songlist with flaming guitars and a general on-the-road atmosphere that resembles a lot to the vintage TYGERS OF PAN TANG days. I had seen the band live in Germany some 3-4 years ago and was impressed by their onstage energy and now comes a studio album that has a relevant horsepower so it’s everything but a coincidence to say this classic outfit is running a second youth. I even noticed some moments bring to mind me beloved DIAMOND HEAD, huh...

“Ambush” is the kind of album you will be glad to purchase, if you’re a fan of classic British Rock/Metal. The songwriting is nice, the guitars are blazing, the rhythm section is pounding hard, the vocals are tantalizing in a way and the overall result screams you can’t teach an old dog new tricks. So, my next question is: when is this one coming out on vinyl?

P.S.: Read the members’ blog entries for the new album here.





01. Keeping Me Alive
02. These Eyes
03. One Of A Kind
04. Rock & Roll Dream
05. She
06. Man On Fire
07. Play To Win
08. Burning Desire
09. Hey Suzie
10. Mr. Indispensable
11. Speed


Jacopo Meille - Vocals
Robb Weir - Guitars
Deano - Guitars
Gavin Gray - Bass
Craig Ellis - Drums