Wednesday 13 - Calling All Corpses

Wednesday 13 - Calling All Corpses

(CD, DevCo Entertainment, 2011)

Wednesday has always been my least favorite day of the week, and I cannot provide a reasonable explanation for this. 13 is universally considered an unlucky number, so the combination of the two, does seem unnerving. Joseph Poole a.k.a. Wednesday 13 who is associated with many horror punk projects, formed the homonymous band in 2004, after the famous horror punk band MURDERDOLLS went on hiatus in 2004. The new band combined Hard Rock influences, while not straying from Poole’s musical roots.

After three full length albums and a live one, WEDNESDAY 13 release “Calling All Corpses”, containing 11 tracks. The music can be described as cocktail mixed with equal parts of ALICE COOPER and RAMONES, with a touch of AC/DC and MISFITS. The mostly mid-tempo tracks, have cool riffs, sing along, catchy choruses, and tongue in cheek lyrics, inspired by good old campy horror films! The band deserves extra credit for the clever song titles.

Speaking of individual tracks, “One Knife Stand” has a certain 1960’s feel with a MISFITS inspired chorus (trademark whoas included). The self-titled track is a very good Hard Rocker, with fitting horror soundtrack inspired keyboards. “Bad At Being Human” is surely inspired by the aforementioned Aussie legends, with a killer riff, very cool chorus and hilarious lyrics! The definite highlight of the album is the RAMONES inspired “I Wanna Be Cremated”: you will surely catch yourself singing the infectious and very funny chorus.

Summing up, this album won’t write musical history but it delivers some good old Rock n Roll fun. With Halloween approaching, there is a recipe for instant party: put “Plan 9 From Outer Space” in your DVD, call your friends, telling them to bring the proper quantities of beer and let WEDNESDAY 13 provide the soundtrack. You’ll have a blast!





01. Blood Fades To Black
02. I Wanna Be Cremated
03. Ghoul Of My Dreams
04. One Knife Stand
05. Calling All Corpses
06. Miss Morgue
07. Silver Bullets
08. Bad At Being Human
09. London After Midnight
10. Candle For The Devil
11. We All Die
12. Something Wicked This Way Comes
13. Blood Fades To Black (reprise)


Wednesday 13 - Vocals, Guitars