Devilment - II - The Mephisto Waltzes

Devilment - II - The Mephisto Waltzes

(CD/LP, Nuclear Blast, 2016)

Of course and it is strange seeing Danny Finch out of DEVILMENT since he was the one who put the band together, but I am in no position to know the whys and the hows, so it is better to focus on the music. After all, in order to really know what happened, one needs to talk to both sides (if there are any) before being able to form a well-educated opinion. Otherwise everything is plain gossip, and to me, this is a ridiculously way to spend one’s precious time and energy. The fact of the matter is that DEVILMENT released “II - The Mephisto Waltzes” almost two years after their impressive debut, and I think they took some steps forward, so let me tell you why.

First of all, the CRADLE OF FILTH aura is - as expected - everywhere in this album, with the Gothic aesthetics being enhanced with additional heaviness when compared to the band’s debut. This is exactly how “Judas Stein” opens the album; catchy keyboard melodies, nice drum groove and Dani’s growls that come slightly less screaming than in CRADLE OF FILTH. This was exactly the case with the DEVILMENT debut and the thing I liked the most because I’d be bored to get the same thing under a different wrapping (band name that is). After the atmospheric keyboard part, the guitar takes the lead as the bpms increase following the heavy sounding double bass. Yeah, DEVILMENT sound heavier than they did in the first LP, without discarding the straightforward Heavy Metal attitude. “Hitchcock Blonde” is all about the groove that gives that club feeling Dani was talking about in a past interview at METAL KAOZ. The main keyboard melody excellently blends with the distorted guitars and Dani’s trademark reading mixing clean and screaming vocals. The female backing vocals put the word 'Gothic' in bold letters and in a bizarre way fits like hand in glove to the “Penny Dreadful”-inspired cover artwork. By the way, if you listen closely, you’ll hear the “Psycho” cameo appearance with the violin sounds. Speaking of Gothic atmosphere, you should check the mid-to-slow tempo “Full Dark, No Stars” with haunting piano-sounding keyboards and the female vocals that make a killer pair with Dani’s almost spoken-type singing. The bass lines during the slow part somewhere in the middle along with the female lead singing build the expectations for a heavier climax that soon takes place before switching to another groovy ending with must-singing along melodies. The female singing really makes “Life Is What You Keep From The Reaper” an album favorite, serving almost horror movie aesthetics and makes a killer antithesis to the hard hitting’ grooves and the explosive­-sounding bass and drum breaks. This fillers-free tracklist ends with the fast and heavy “Hell At My Back” and I have to admit that the guitars in the beginning of this could easily fool that belong to an AMON AMARTH song. Of course, the keyboard loop and Dani’s impossible to not identify voice quickly restores the balance...

As it seems, DEVILMENT is more than just a single-album project, and judging by the sound of “II - The Mephisto Waltzes”, it seems that there are a lot of cool ideas baking inside the lineup’s oven, so the next step is to take this baby on the road and see how it behaves.





01. Judasstein
02. Hitchcock Blonde
03. Under The Thunder
04. Full Dark, No Stars
05. Shine On Sophie Moone
06. Life Is What You Keep From The Reaper
07. Dea Della Morte
08. Entangled In Our Pride
09. Hell At My Back


Nick Johnson - Bass
Colin Parks - Guitars
Lauren Francis - Keyboards, Backing Vocals
Dani Filth - Vocals
Matt Alston - Drums