Lordi - Scare Force One

Lordi - Scare Force One

(CD, AFM Records, 2014)

It’s hard for a metalhead to accept that a Metal band like LORDI could possibly win the Eurovision contest with all those ‘plastic’ and cookie-cutter songs the organizers consider the cream of the crop of music. So, when the Finnish band won the first place, wearing all those GWAR-looking costumes, it felt like justice had been served (at least for once). This entire stardom that was built around LORDI had the opposite effect on me, so I turned my back on the band. To cut a rather long story short, I admit that I judged a book by its cover and in the end (and after a great concert), I started listening to LORDI's groovy Hard Rock and I think they sound better in every album. “Scare Force One” is a solid piece of evidence.

Apparently, the band took this album to their country for the production and I think it was a wise choice, since “Scare Force One” sounds heavier than the previous one. Yeah, the guitars seem to have taken half step forward on the mix as it happens in the title track of the album from the riff driven opening sequence to the most melodic and deadly catchy keys-guitar double harmonies close to the end. Of course, the vocals and the lyrics have LORDI’s trademark (yeah, after more than one decade of existence the Finns have earned the ‘trademark’ status) mix of humor and horror that is in abundance and to me the album seems to have a main theme running (not 100% concept though). The keyboards play an important but not leading role and, to be honest, songs like “How To Slice A Whore” or “Cadaver Lover” sounds like a perfect fit for all the Halloween celebrations / parties. Indeed, the Alice Cooper-inspired singing, the easy to follow (and dance) grooves and the awesome to sing chorus are killer mood-lifters, so high-volume is recommended. I will agree with the press-release that came with this album that it’s a bit more modern like it showcased in “Monster Is My Name” which I’d swear was written by a US band. And no, this is not a bad thing, because LORDI have a show to feed with their music and let’s face it, Americans do this better. As an example, I’ll say that I see some Rob Zombie in “Nailed By The Hammer Of Frankenstein” (by the way, this is a potential hit song) with the awesome keyboard melodies and sound effects. One of the most addictive songs of the tracklist is hands-down “She’s A Demon” and I think being catchy and straightforward is the strongest card on LORDI’s hand. Here, the main vocal melody is amazing, so it will take no time to start humming and then sing-along the chorus, agreeing that she is a demon with your most evil-sounding voice. I love the fat and most organic sound of the guitars that follow the golden rule of the simplest riff/chord the better (the older metalheads will understand this). “Sir, Mr. Presideath, Sir!” is cut from the same cloth and also has some really nice Hard Rock guitar fills, so for this, it sounds heavier and meaner, while I will give extra kudos to the producer for giving the bass more space to shine and embrace some KISS type of mix.

Without deviating from their sound, LORDI sound fresh and inspired, having produced a solid tracklist that really has no weak moment. In other words, “Scare Force One” is a party with 45 minutes of groovy music (instrumentals and spoken parts not included) that are enough to get the party going. Now, the one-million dollar question: why the hell LORDI haven’t made it to the US? Isn’t it about time?





01. SCG7: Arm Your Doors and Cross Check
02. Scare Force One
03. How To Slice A Whore
04. Hell Sent In The Clowns
05. House Of Ghosts
06. Monster Is My Name
07. Cadaver Lover
08. Amen’s Lament To Ra II
09. Nailed By The Hammer Of Frankenstein
10. The United Rocking Dead
11. She’s A Demon
12. Hella’s Kitchen
13. Sir, Mr. Presideath, Sir!


Mr. Lordi - Vocals
Amen - Guitars
Ox- Bass
Hella - Keyboards
Mana - Drums