Michael Schenker - Blood Of The Sun

Michael Schenker - Blood Of The Sun

(CD, Collectors Dream Records, 2014)

There’s no way to simply describe what the name of this man means to the music world. You just have to ask any Hard Rock or Heavy Metal guitarist about his main influences and big chances are this name shall pop up in any case. What I always adored in Schenker’s profile was the extravagant performance of course, but on other thing that stays intact in him all these years is his easiness in creating excellence from scratch, be it original recordings or cover versions as witnessed here.

When Michael asks for help then everyone is willing to contribute, and if you check the tracklist, you’re really recognize some big names here. There’s no need to do a track-by-track analysis here since the main idea is whether this collaboration is successful or not. And, hands down, it is. Standout tracks include the remake of “Save Yourself” from the McAULEY SCHENKER GROUP days, the crazy metallic rendition of BLACK SABBATH’s “War Pigs”, the immaculate, thirsty cover take on NAZARETH’s “Hair Of The Dog” and the exploding ‘restoration’ of Jimi Hendrix’s “I Don’t Live Today”. Still, as already said, all cuts here see Michael in top form with his Flying V guitar ready to burst at the first chord.

You’ll have a good, a very good companion with this release, rest assured. “Blood Of The Sun” (the title is taken from the homonymous MOUNTAIN anthem) sees Michael and his friends scoring a big deal of hardhittin’ success with this CD and there are three winning parts here for you: first of all, it’s Michael Schenker as we know and love him, then it’s the ‘dream team’ guest list that raises the bar high and last - but not least - we all know it’s a good opportunity to discover buried but not forgotten original gems with cover version CDs like this. Not bad, right?





01. Out In The Fields (feat. Gary Barden)
02. Save Yourself (feat. Robin McAuley)
03. Doctor Doctor (feat. Jeff Scott Soto)
04. War Pigs (feat. Tim “Ripper” Owens)
05. Finding My Way (feat. Sebastian Bach)
06. All Shook Up (feat. Joe Lynn Turner)
07. Blood Of The Sun (feat. Leslie West)
08. Money (feat. Tommy Shaw)
09. I’m Not Talking (feat. Mark Slaughter)
10. Hair Of The Dog (feat. Paul Di’Anno)
11. I Don’t Live Today (feat. Sebastian Bach)
12. Politician (feat. Jeff Pilson)
13. Doctor Doctor (instrumental)
14. War Pigs (Instrumental)