Lacuna Coil - Broken Crown Halo

Lacuna Coil - Broken Crown Halo

(CD, Century Media, 2014)

Whether you like it or not, bands change their sound just like your taste for music does and you find yourself liking one genre that you used to hate and vice versa. This is absolutely normal but most of the metalheads hate it when it is happening to a band they love. I guess you can see the paradox here but if you can’t, let me put it this way; it’s ok for you to change your liking but it is a blasphemy when a band that you like tries something different. This is exactly the case for LACUNA COIL who have been walking away from the heavier Gothic of the “In A Reverie” and “Unleashed Memories” days towards to more generic music forms of “Shallow Life”. Sure, “Dark Adrenaline” did spark some interest that LACUNA COIL might make their sound heavier but I think that ship had sailed long ago. Yeah, “Broken Crown Halo” walks on pretty much the same mainstream path, so there is no need to complain about; you can either accept it or move on.

The electric samples, the growling vocals and the headbanging rhythm of “Nothing Stands In Our Way” feel like a tiny appetizer because the Gothic Rock of the late LACUNA COIL albums quickly takes over lead by Cristina’s soft singing. The song is groovy alright but there is nothing really special, and most importantly, the change of heavier to softer parts doesn’t sound smooth. “Zombie” comes to offer more heaviness with the down-tuned main-riff but still the US references on the clean male singing and overall groovy rhythm section can be enough for many of the old fans to turn their backs again. At least the guitar solo and the nice keyboard layers have a most positive effect, if you are (still) searching for any Metal element to keep your interest going on. And “Die & Rise” will definitely reward you starting off with the awesome bass-driven rhythm and another down-tuned riff (this made me think of KORN) before letting Cristina soften things a little bit in an unofficial beauty-and-the-beast concept (ok, the beast is not a growling one, but you got my drift).

This album kind of follows the steps of “Dark Adrenaline” with a dark atmosphere honoring the band’s Gothic roots and please consider songs like “I Forgive (But I Won't Forget You)” (awesome vocal melodies here), “Infection” (more growling action here) and definitely “In The End I Feel Alive” (pay attention to the nice orchestration) as a reference for my saying. “Broken Crown Halo” closes after the six minutes of “Once Cold Day” and to me this is probably the best song here, having Cristina’s performance on the driver’s seat as she is laying down some beautiful melodies, proving that LACUNA COIL still have a strong Gothic composing hand.

“Broken Crown Halo” is pretty good album and I am sure it will satisfy the LACUNA COIL wider fanbase, especially in the US but it won’t do any good to those who are still raving for the band's first two releases. Still, no matter your affiliation I’d propose to check the tracklist and especially the second part of the album because there are things you might like.





01. Nothing Stands In Our Way
02. Zombies
03. Hostage To The Light
04. Victims
05. Die & Rise
06. I Forgive (But I Won't Forget Your Name)
07. Cybersleep
08. Infection
09. I Burn In You
10. In The End I Feel Alive
11. One Cold Day


Marco Coti Zelati - Bass, Keyboards
Cristina Scabbia - Vocals
Andrea Ferro - Vocals
Cristiano Mozzati - Drums
Maus - Guitar