Backdraft - This Heaven Goes To Eleven

Backdraft - This Heaven Goes To Eleven

(CD, GMR Music, 2011)

Is it just me or do you also feel the same when you read the title of BACKDRAFT’s latest album, “This Heaven Goes To Eleven”? I mean, does your mind jump exactly into the SPINAL TAP thing? Well, BACKDRAFT is a southern rock quintet from Sweden (I know I said the ‘magic’ word here which is Sweden) that in my ears sounds a little bit bluesy than southern to tell you the truth. After doing their first steps in discography with “Here To Save You All” in 2001 (what a promising title was that!) and releasing one more album 4 years ago, BACKDRAFT return with their personal ‘heaven’, inviting all of us to join them in that heavy riff album which has so many referrals into US classic Rock bands like LYNYRD SKYNYRD and AEROSMITH are.

It seems that these guys left the southern / Stoner ‘attitude’ aside, unfurl Stars and Stripes and took their well-polished guitars to show us how the Blues Rock is played in Sweden, following so faithfully the recipe of Ronnie Van Zant, and even the KISS golden era (speaking about the very first years). You may think there are many bands that have attempted this ‘experiment’ and after a couple of albums are not that active any more (THE ANSWER come first in mind) but I think that in BACKDRAFT’s case there is something totally different. I will not deal with the grooviest and up tempo tracks of the album, which is so cliché, but with the most bluesy and trippy ones like “Wheel Of No Fortune” that reminds me something from the unforgettable and nostalgic RAINBOW era, thanks to that catchy and dream-like main riff, being a perfect travel back in time.

From my point of view, BACKDRAFT have reached the point, leaving aside their southern Heavy Rock past and walk into more melodic Hard Rock paths, looking straightforward the bluesy roots and taking their chances with courage, frankness and many ideas. As Keith Richards said once, “if you don’t know the blues, there’s no point in picking up the guitar and playing rock and roll or any other form of popular music”. I’m sure you are so agree with that.





01. Idiot
02. Yesterdays & Tomorrows
03. E.C.G.T. Blues
04. Stand
05. No Love
06. Wheel Of No Fortune
07. On The Flipside
08. The King Of Diesel
09. Out Of Here


Jonas Ahlen - Vocals
Mats Rydstrom - Bass
Jon Sundberg - Guitars
Niklas Matsson - Drums
Robert Johansson - Guitars