Meshuggah - Koloss

Meshuggah - Koloss

AddThis Social Bookmark Button

(CD, Nuclear Blast, 2012)

MESHUGGAH are the evolution of a saturated Metal scene where the majority of the bands choose to go mainstream with a personal sound and ride the fame train. MESHUGGAH is a force of paradox, creating a nearly flawless form of Metal; a form one could characterize as scientific yet, they never leave the underground and refuse to create something that will appeal to the majority and that’s what makes them unique.

MESHUGGAH leave nothing to chance as songs are created according to the laws of musical "science", perfect nearly flawless. MESHUGGAH’s music is technical, so technical that sometimes can be more progressive than many listeners can handle. MESHUGGAH have revealed something that is beyond the normal Metal music crafting - I could say that the rest of the bands are poor in their musical knowledge if compared to them. “Koloss” is a diamond cut with precision and each song could possibly be featured as a single release. The musical variations in every song could give ideas for other bands to create an entire album. The songs define the band’s genius; just listen to “Swarm” and “The Demon’s Name Is Surveillance”; one can witness how order can be born out of chaos through the application of musical resonance and intense riffing.

MESHUGGAH are able to create Progressive Metal music in such way that shadows even the leaders of this scene without allowing themselves to go mainstream. It is true that their music is not for the masses without sing-along songs as no vocal moment or musical instrument is left to chance (or if there is something that might seem as chance it also has a mathematical to back it up). And hopefully they will never become mainstream because then they will lose their "science".  For those that wish a more simplified explanation to what “Koloss” is can also consider two trains; one named “Nothing” and the other “ObZen”, travelling with an increasing speed towards each other and the unavoidable collision emits a produces a mind-blowing force, called “Koloss”.

Probably if not the best album of this year, “Koloss” is a definitive contender and I am happy to see that 2012 has been up until now a great year for the Metal scene. I would run to my music retailer and buy this gem instantly. Oh, wait, I have already done that so now it’s your turn.





01. I Am Colossus
02. The Demon’s Name Is Surveillance
03. Do Not Look Down
04. Behind The Sun
05. The Hurt That Finds You First
06. Marrow
07. Break Those Bones Whose Sinews Gave It Motion
08. Swarm
09. Demiurge
10. The Last Vigil


Jens Kidman - Vocals
Fredrik Thordendal - Guitars
Marten Hagstrom - Guitars
Dick Lovgren - Bass
Tomas Haake - Drums