Axel Rudi Pell - Circle Of The Oath

Axel Rudi Pell - Circle Of The Oath

AddThis Social Bookmark Button


(CD/LP, SPV, 2012)

Yes, it’s true; Axel Rudi Pell’s new solo album does not show any signs of different musical approach. Hang him high! In a music world where there is a thin red line to separating Hard Rock and Heavy Metal there are artists like this gifted German blond man that stick to what they know better: writing songs from the heart to feed the hunger of devoted fans. Simple and so complex, at the same time...

“Circle Of The Oath” is the guitarist’s fourteenth normal full-length album and one more in the row featuring the winning Gioeli/Doernberg/Krawczak/Terrana lineup. Seriously now, there’s nothing to be afraid of if a core fan of Pell’s career. The songs and the overall atmosphere in this new CD/LP is the ‘trademark’ one that has long now placed Axel in the hearts of thousands of fans in Europe and the rest of the world. The production shines again, doing justice to all instruments, while the vocals of Johnny Gioeli show no sign of wear in all these +20 years of professional singing. Minor comments go to: i) the tiny upgrade of power and speed in this album, in its first half at least, ii) the cover that lacks the purple color this time (!) and iii) the last track on the album, “World Of Confusion (The Masquerade Ball Pt. II)” that can leave you speechless if you dare enter deep in its gloom.

Usually a small number of words in reviews reveal a bad or mediocre album. Here, in Axel Rudi Pell’s case, it’s a completely different thing. Without being phenomenal or colossal, this is just another fine album added in the ex-STEELER guitarist’s rich career. If you already possess his previous albums, “Circle Of The Oath” is nothing less than another neat addition. Evolution and broadened horizons are reserved from various other bands and artists in our times; here’s the good-ol’-times-Hard-Rock-meets-melodic-Metal deal.





01. The Guillotine Suite (intro)
02. Ghost In The Black
03. Run With The Wind
04. Before I Die
05. Circle Of The Oath
06. Fortunes Of War
07. Bridges To Nowhere
08. Lived Our Lives Before
09. Hold On To Your Dreams
10. World Of Confusion (The Masquerade Ball Pt. II)


Johnny Gioeli - Lead & Backing Vocals
Axel Rudi Pell - Lead, Rhythm & Acoustic Guitars
Ferdy Doernberg - Keyboards
Volker Krawczak - Bass
Mike Terrana - Drums