Thy Catafalque - Rengeteg

Thy Catafalque - Rengeteg

AddThis Social Bookmark Button

(CD, Season Of Mist, 2011)

This is definitely a weird release and unfortunately my beloved Season Of Mist thought it would be a nice idea leaving this digital promo without any information. Ok, I know you’ve been sick & tired listening to me bitching about the lack of information many promos have, but the only thing I ask is a little respect from the labels, just the same we show to them and their releases.

Anyway, THY CATAFALQUE is obviously a one-man band, and in fact this guy is not a rookie in the Metal scene since he and his Metal chariot have been around since 1998! From a little research I did, I found out that this guy has actually been in several one man projects he formed from time to time. I don’t know but that’s probably not a really good sign. I hope Season Of Mist knew what it was doing when it was signing this Hungarian solo project.

Hmm, to be honest this is a lot better than I expected it to be. “Rengeteg” (I don’t even know what that means) is a fine all around album, with concrete song structures, diverse influences and a lot of experimentation. Tamas Katai has probably worked a lot on these songs, in order to build an Avant Garde Metal garden that bares the most beautiful scents, as well as the foul stench of death and despair. This 1 hour opus is comprised of various sounds, ranging from heavy, “metallic” riffing, Black/Death patterns, Progressive touches and a general epic feeling floating through every sound of “Rengeteg”.

Diversity is not only into Katai’s music, since the vocals change once in a while to adapt to each riff. So you’ll hear the mastermind behind THY CATAFALQUE sing with clean, epic vocals, as well as spit his venom with hellish screams. And last but not least, we have the album’s production which is a real treat for THY CATAFALQUE’s music. I don’t know who is responsible for this, but he’s definitely done a kickass job giving the album the boost it needs with a sound that balances between clarity and the “dirty” heaviness of our beloved music. Unfortunately I never had the chance to know this band earlier, but this album will definitely be my ticket to the world of this one man band/project/whatever. I guess the people of Season Of Mist know what they’re doing after all.





01. Fekete Mezok
02. Kel Keleti Szel
03. Trilobita
04. Ko Koppan
05. Vashegyek
06. Holdkomp
07. Kek Ingem Lobogo
08. Az Eso, Az Eso, Az Eso
09. Tar Gallyak Vegul
10. Minden Test Fu


Tamas Katai - Vocals, All Instruments