Aherusia - Prometheus: Seven Principles On How To Be Invincible

Aherusia - Prometheus: Seven Principles On How To Be Invincible

AddThis Social Bookmark Button

(CD, Prime Eon Media Ltd., 2017)

Considering how much I like what ROTTING CHRIST did with the last two albums by bringing more Greek traditional music sounds in their style, I feel really bad for having missed AHERUSIA’s doings. On top of this, I strongly believe that the Ancient Greek music as well as the Folk version of it as it was transformed through the decades blends really well into Black Metal and, in fact, there are instances it is way better than the rawer Scandinavian version. Ok, this may be a matter of personal taste but I believe that if you dig deep into this, I am sure you’ll eventually agree with me. Anyway, AHERUSIA have already released “Prometheus: Seven Principles On How To Be Invincible” and it has been on my daily playlist because it is an amazing LP delivering the genre mix I was referring in my opening words...

First of all, it was a bit bizarre how my interest was attracted to this album, since it was the Orthodox Easter a couple of weeks ago and it seemed appropriate to me to dig into “Prometheus: Seven Principles On How To Be Invincible” with a cover artwork similar to the Byzantine oil drawing aesthetics despite the fact it is Prometheus on it... Yeah, I told you this was bizarre and it feels even stranger now that I’ve used words on it. The instrumental “Anasa” works like a curtain being slowly lifted to reveal the stage upon which an Ancient tragedy will unfold. As you’re listening to this, you’ll be getting the picture of a band getting warmed up while the Greek Chorus is wailing its way to the beginning of the tragic story. Then, the almost religious chants step on the limelight and soon enough are followed by a guitar riff that smells from miles away like the Greek Black Metal scene. The tempo gets faster as the snare-drum in “Ascending: Martyrdom's Crown” flirts with blast-beat speeds showing its Black Metal teeth in all its glory. The Ancient Greek lyrics during the slower break are simply amazing, and here, you can understand what I was talking about this type of Folk Black Metal. The guitar riffs carry some catchy melodies while maintaining the mysticism aesthetics intact throughout the second part of this 7-minute long epos. It is true that the lyrics may sound strange to your ears but I think this type articulation makes a great pairing to Black Metal, and check “As Light Defeats The Darkness” to get this. The female backing vocals are the icing on the cake while the faster part on the second half of this song will make you hum along from the first seconds. Sure, you can see some ROTTING CHRIST here of their cleaner “Dead Poem” era and this is said with the most positive way. The song that got me hooked from the first spin is “Anonymous” with the extremely catchy groove and the matching grunts borrowing a lot from the Greek Folk music scene. This one clocks almost nine minutes with many layers being on top of each that occasionally revisit the main riff/melody. Yeah, the crank the volume up during the riff-driven faster break with the solid bass lines taking care of the rhythm section to fully enjoy the ride back to the opening part like you are making a full circle. Did I mention how great the double guitar harmonies work here? Oh yeah, they do.

After the first spins during which I spent most of my listening time revisiting the songs that appealed to me, I started seeing more details, and in the end I appreciated the entire album as a single entity. There seems to be a thread connecting all the songs together and I think the way the chants and some riffs appear, has this effect. See how “Ocean” unfolds as it carries pretty much all the elements I have already mentioned with the Ancient Greek music slightly more highlighted starting off with the opening percussion and the melodies carried over by the lead guitars. By the way, I love how the bass occasional takes a step forward in the mix as it happens in this one.

Even though I have listened to this album so many times, I am still discovering something I missed in the first place, and that’s the beauty and depth of “Prometheus: Seven Principles On How To Be Invincible”. I mean, there is no way to fast-food-listen to songs like “Breaking The Chains Of Atrocity” and let all the details slip through the cracks. After all, the devil is in the details, right?

P.S.: I really hope there is a vinyl edition out there.





01. Anasa
02. Ascending: Martyrdom's Crown
03. As Light Defeats The Darkness
04. Anonymous
05. Taming Chaos
06. A Prophecy
07. Ocean
08. Breaking The Chains Of Atrocity


Voreas Faethon - Guitar, Vocals
Arcania - Guitar
Charon - Keyboards
Esperos - Cretan Lyra
Aidhor - Drums