Amorphis - The Beginning Of Times

Amorphis - The Beginning Of Times

AddThis Social Bookmark Button

(CD, Nuclear Blast, 2011)

Sometimes I don’t understand a certain group of metalheads; from the moment a band decides to change musical direction those people turn from lovers to haters. Ok, I have to admit that when a band radically changes sound it might be good to also change the band’s name. The bottom line is that if you don’t like it just don’t listen; you don’t have to always makes boring comments like: “I only like the first albums” or “I went to the concert and they didn’t play 10 songs from the first two albums”… Of course, all of the above have a place in AMORPHIS story who have been walking a different musical path since the release of “Elegy”. But, this dispute should have been long forgotten since the Finnish band has released 7 albums (including this one) from that day. So, what do you say? Shall we move on?

This is the tenth full length from AMORPHIS and there is no such a big surprise that “The Beginning Of Times” is another Finnish mythology inspired album. If you have been following the band the last 10 years you should probably know that the greatest asset of the Finnish metallers (yes, they are still Metal) is the multi-level lyricism. The keyboards and the guitar blend together and create a stained glass of emotions with different mood colors. Although, I liked “Skyforger” I think it was kind of weak as compared to this one. The music is tight and mixed to perfection serving all the different sound tastes without mixing/spoiling their scents. The vocals play the role of an additional musical instruments altering the timbre according to the storyteller’s mood getting you inside the story creating pictures of snowy landscapes, dimply lighted forests and one step from being a part of the Finnish tradition.

Although, I don’t like commenting on this, I have to inform you that there are some growling vocals but they are given limited time. They only show up when are needed to raise the tension and take the cobwebs of melancholy away from your listening range. The guitars serve the trademark easy to remember and hum along riffs that I believe make AMORPHIS so special. Perfect examples are the heavy album opener “Battle For Light”, the hit-to-be “Mermaid” (love the female back vocals) and my personal favorite riff driven “Song Of The Sage”.  The latter features some hearty 70s sounding keyboards that took my mind to Arjen Luccassen’s works with AYREON. Especially, the clean guitar break, the flute sound and the excellent guitar effect on the leads are those elements to keep you addicted in this track.

Another heavy track is “Soothsayer” that comes with a solid rhythm section and some guitar phrases close the latest PARADISE LOST era especially during the growling parts. Of course, when the eastern sounding vocal melodies kick in the music has the name of AMORPHIS written with bold letters. Again the female backing voices are a nice touch…

I don’t feel like explaining more why I like this album. It is better than the previous and to my ears sounds like the band has put more work in the making. Also, I could not find any weak spots and definitely I failed to ‘discover’ NIGHTWISH sounding songs like many tend to believe due to Marco Hietala’s work in the vocals’ production. This is a very good AMORPHIS sounding album so… who cares?




01. Battle For Light
02. Mermaid
03. My Enemy
04. You I Need
05. Song Of The Sage
06. Three Words
07. Reformation
08. Soothsayer
09. On A Stranded Shore
10. Escape
11. Crack In A Stone
12. Beginning Of Time


Jan Rechberger - Drums
Esa Holopainen - Guitars
Tomi Koivusaari - Rhythm Guitars
Santeri Kallio - Keyboard
Niclas Etelavuori - Bass
Tomi Joutsen - Vocals